Snow hits Togakushi, Nagano ken

Here are some shots from Togakushi on a visit there January 27-28.  After over a week of daily snow, the pack was well over a meter.   Quiet and beautiful.  A few days later however, the build-up caused power outages, a major bridge in the prefecture to collapse and an avalanche to take out a mountain-side onsen, sadly killing three (Bloomberg report).

About calebscarter

I specialize in Japanese religions within the broader context of Buddhism and East Asian cultures. Within these fields, I focus especially on Shugendō, a mountain-based tradition in Japan developed largely from esoteric, Zen and Pure Land Buddhism with additional influences from Chinese religions and local spirit worship (later identified as Shintō). I approach these subjects from an interdisciplinary perspective that draws on literary, economic, political, social and intellectual history. I received my Masters (2008) and PhD (2014), both in Buddhist Studies from UCLA, with a BA (2000) in Philosophy from Colorado College. I currently teach full-time for the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures at UCLA. Outside of research and teaching, I play a three-stringed instrument from Okinawa called the sanshin and spend time with my family at nearby playgrounds and campgrounds. I also love the outdoors, especially climbing in the mountains—an orientation that has in many ways shaped my current intellectual path. View all posts by calebscarter

One response to “Snow hits Togakushi, Nagano ken

Leave a Reply

